PDA

View Full Version : 74.53.243.34 Is A Server?!?!


KOOLguy
08-13-2007, 12:49
Recently many people on these and other forums have been having major difficulties with the IP 74.53.243.34 attempting to get into their accounts. I have found some important information

according to this link, (http://74.53.243.34/) and a few other background sources this ip is supposed a server with a wicked fast connection, now I'm not entirely sure this is true but if i can ping the thing and get a reply in less then 120ms, then somethings up. theplanet.com (http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=theplanet&btnG=Google+Search) runs dedicated servers at there, so that means some IT technician there is screwing with a whole bunch of forums, blogs, and even a few small email accounts. and these attacks all occured within the last 5 days. I don't think this is merely hacking. This is bigtime craziness :eek:

GSV3MiaC
08-13-2007, 13:17
More likely it has been compromised. Just possible that some legitimate user is running some programs they shouldn't be. Highly unlikely it is any IT tech associated with the the server owner I would have thought - IT techs ought be smarter than cr&p on their own doorstep.

KOOLguy
08-13-2007, 13:41
well truly, some sicko IT technicians out there probably would wast their time fooling around with people's accounts then doing their jobs. but you have a point.

CvP
08-14-2007, 07:31
KOOL, i think GSV3MiaC is right. if it's a server, it is more likely some stupid client of that server who just learned how to "try-hack" in vBulletin.