COWON America Forums  

Go Back   COWON America Forums > Digital Audio Players [iAudio series] > iAudio 6
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-17-2007
breakfastchef's Avatar
breakfastchef breakfastchef is offline
Dont Eat The Yellow Snow
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 503
Rep Power: 14
breakfastchef is a name known to all breakfastchef is a name known to all breakfastchef is a name known to all breakfastchef is a name known to all breakfastchef is a name known to all breakfastchef is a name known to all
Re: iaudio 6 not recognized by Vista

I only want to assist you, and other users, to get the most benefit from your device. Since I am not a Cowon emloyee, I do this moderator thing just because I am a user myself. Do your best to contact Cowon Tech Support using Live Chat as this is your only, somewhat reliable, method of contacting the company. If you are fit to be tied and want to go to California to vent your frustrations, I can supply their address to you.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-18-2007
CvP's Avatar
CvP CvP is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Posts: 1,612
Rep Power: 10
CvP has a reputation beyond repute CvP has a reputation beyond repute CvP has a reputation beyond repute CvP has a reputation beyond repute CvP has a reputation beyond repute CvP has a reputation beyond repute CvP has a reputation beyond repute CvP has a reputation beyond repute CvP has a reputation beyond repute CvP has a reputation beyond repute CvP has a reputation beyond repute
Arrow Re: iaudio 6 not recognized by Vista

excelent work there, breakfastchef.
as i dont own any iAudio ( )...i cant check things myself. but i think vista32bit should be fine with iAudios. 64bit version might have problem but it is very likely that at least you'll be able to see it as a removable disk and copy songs though this is not desirable at all... c'mon COWON, fix vista issues if there any...
__________________
How to make installer for jetAudio Skin?
jetBar for Windows Media Player
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-18-2007
Stiksister Stiksister is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 0
Stiksister is still to judged
Re: iaudio 6 not recognized by Vista

I wouldn't mind if I could just use it as a removable disk with my Vista laptop. I will do as breakfastchef suggested and try the Cowan's Live Chat since I got nowhere with filing the Tech Support trouble ticket (still no further response from them on that as of today). I will LYK what they tell me.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-18-2007
Stiksister Stiksister is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 0
Stiksister is still to judged
Re: iaudio 6 not recognized by Vista

I uninstalled and then reinstalled my USB drivers and tried again and this time it recognized my device as external storage drive.

That is real progress, I don't mind if this is the only way to attach to my notebook. Only problem now is that when I disconnect it does not charge the player. The OS says I can safely remove my device, but the player thinks it is still connected and does not go into charge mode.

Oh well.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-18-2007
GSV3MiaC's Avatar
GSV3MiaC GSV3MiaC is offline
Tecky-type user of iAudio
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Shropshire UK
Posts: 501
Rep Power: 15
GSV3MiaC is a name known to all GSV3MiaC is a name known to all GSV3MiaC is a name known to all GSV3MiaC is a name known to all GSV3MiaC is a name known to all GSV3MiaC is a name known to all
Re: iaudio 6 not recognized by Vista

AFAIK the player is ALWAYS in charge mode when it is connected, even if it doesn't say so (unless you turned charging off in the options someplace).
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-29-2008
jhpolsky's Avatar
jhpolsky jhpolsky is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 0
jhpolsky is still to judged
Re: iaudio 6 not recognized by Vista

Many others (myself included) have had the same problems. My problem is with my D2 and only in MTP mode, but MSC works fine. Someone else said upgrading the drivers on their mainboard more or less fixed the problem, but it didn't seem to work for me. I contacted Cowon through livechat multiple times and they asked me really stupid questions no matter how clear I was in trying to explain that it wasn't a silly problem, that there was a serious recognition issue. Needless to say, I didn't get anywhere with them and am still in the same spot as you. If you get anywhere, let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-07-2010
albertlbrt11 albertlbrt11 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 21
Rep Power: 0
albertlbrt11 is still to judged
Re: iaudio 6 not recognized by Vista

I have 4 computers in my house 3 are XP and 1 Vista.
I am using a Cowon d2+.
The D2+ won't recognize flac as a music file from one of the Xp machines. Using the same exact Flac folder and files the other 3 machines transfer flac files fine. If you are transferring in the device mode instead of the hard drive mode it will tell you the file need to be converted but it is not true my case. The one machine in question is a much faster machine too.
What is strange is that if I take the files i put on the D2+ by the problematic machine off and put them on the the other xp and transfer them back it works. The integrity of the files in my case is not the issue. All Mp3,OGG,WAVE and wma all work fine on all 4 machines. Need to be carefull creating wav and wma files so they are compatable with the D2+ so I used jet audio. D2+ will not run lossless wav or wma files.
Now the guy who is changing the file extention to fla instead of flac is fooling himself because the fla extention is not a music file and The Cowon will not complain in device mode but will not play them as music either.
I am a test engineer and do some software work. I wish I knew what was going on here. It maybe a nuance in the way different USB ports transfer files that fakes the player out as to it's integrity. If you are not making flac files that are not the proper format then all bets are off as far them working. But I have known good flac files.
In my case I proved to myself even when they are good some machines may be having problems getting the player to recognize them. Could be software conflict. The problematic machine has had alot of media software installed and alot different mp3 player installed.

Try using another machine -







____________________
Loreal Serie Expert
Redken
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-23-2010
hurry234 hurry234 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 17
Rep Power: 0
hurry234 is still to judged
Re: iaudio 6 not recognized by Vista

When I attach my iaudio 6 to my laptop it says it is installing software drivers, then message that installation failed and I should contact the manufacturer of my device for the proper drivers. My laptop is running Vista Ultimate 64 bit. Are there drivers available for me to d/l or is there some other reason that the installation of the drivers failed on my machine?
____________________________________
Electronic Cigarette
E Cigarette
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.