COWON America Forums  

Go Back   COWON America Forums > jetAudio > [JA] Technical Support
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2006
crosby1 crosby1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Rep Power: 0
crosby1 is still to judged
Problem with JA or with sound card???

ok, here's the issue:

i want to connect my pc to my home audio system so i can listen to mp3's. i have a compaq presario S6500NX pc with an integrated realtek AC97 sound card. the card has one output for speakers (3.5mm plug).

currently, i have a 3.5mm "Y" adapter plugged into the sound card; one port goes to the pc speakers, the other port goes to a 3.5mm/RCA connector and then to the "cd" input on the back of the home audio receiver.

the problem is this: when i play my mp3's through the receiver, the volume is extremely low and i only get sound out of the front right speaker...nothing from the center or left speakers.

the pc speakers work fine and if i connect my ipod through the 3.5mm/RCA connector to the receiver, that works fine as well.

do i need to upgrade the sound card to something else (if so, what?) or are there some settings in JA that will make this work?

win xp home, sp 2
jet audio 6.2.6.8330 plus VX

thanks very much in advance for any help/suggestions with this problem...i'm at the end of my rope!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2006
Timbo Timbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 63
Rep Power: 10
Timbo is still to judged
Re: Problem with JA or with sound card???

Try to change your output in windows from speakers to something else.
Another thing could be, that you should try another input at your stereo. i.e. my pc workd only at the "Aux"-Input at the stereo.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2006
crosby1 crosby1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Rep Power: 0
crosby1 is still to judged
Re: Problem with JA or with sound card???

thanks. i've tried every configuration for the speakers; same issue.

is it at all possible that the sound card is not outputing stereo sound?? i do get sound from both of the pc speakers, but how do i know if it's stereo or mono?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2006
Timbo Timbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 63
Rep Power: 10
Timbo is still to judged
Re: Problem with JA or with sound card???

Quote:
Originally Posted by crosby1
how do i know if it's stereo or mono?
If you double-click on the litle speaker in the taskbar, there should be a lot of vertical rulers and some small horizontal above them. You can move these left and right. These control the balance.

Sometimes I had the problem, that some cables did not plug in correctly. Do you use different cables for your speakers and stereo? Maybe one is broken.

Have you tried a different input at your stereo? Like "Aux" or "tape" or something?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.